Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Premier Daniel Andrews signed an agreement this month to roll out the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) in Victoria. The first stage began in the Barwon region on 1 July 2013. People currently receiving support through the Victorian Government will move to the NDIS at different times depending on where they live and the type of support they receive.

The NDIS will begin to be available across other areas of Victoria progressively from 1 July 2016. The roll-out across Victoria will be:

  • North East Melbourne from July 2016 (includes Nillumbik, Banyule, Darebin, Whittlesea and Yarra local council areas)
  • Central Highlands from January 2017
  • Loddon from May 2017
  • Inner Gippsland, Ovens Murray and Western District from October 2017
  • Inner and Outer Eastern Melbourne from November 2017
  • Hume Moreland from March 2018
  • Southern Melbourne from September 2018
  • Brimbank Melton and Western Melbourne from October 2018
  • Goulburn, Mallee and Outer Gippsland from January 2019.

There are about 4.5 million people in Australia that have a disability of some kind, which constitutes around one fifth of the Australian population. Total number of people across Banyule, Darebin, Nillumbik and Whittlesea with a severe and profound disability is estimated at 20,263.

This roll-out is great news for people living with a disability, and their family and carers who are fortunate to live in the areas to be covered.

Eligible clients who have the most urgent need for supports and who are on the Victorian Disability Support Register, or who are on the Early Childhood Intervention Services waitlist, will enter the scheme over the first two years of the transition.  Access to a package of supports will be provided no earlier than 1 July 2016.

For more information on the NDIS, visit our NDIS web page.

Please direct enquires about the NDIS to Brendan Walsh on Ph (03) 9430 9111, or email